top of page



Parish Pastoral Councils have their roots in Vatican II and specifically in the Code of Canon Law which directs the diocesan bishops to establish procedures for the operation of such councils. In drafting his plan for the Diocese, Bishop Bambera summons the "baptized to positions of leadership" in their respective churches. For the church to be self-sustaining, it must promote an active lay ministry. Bishop Bambera writes that "the future of the diocese lies in the renewal of parish life, and . . . in the generous Servant Leadership of priests, religious and laity who . . . freely give themselves" spreading the word, promoting worship, fostering community and being of service to others. (Taken from Diocese of Scranton; Servant Leadership: Parish Pastoral Council Guidelines, pages 8-20.)



The Parish Pastoral Council of St. Ignatius Loyola was established to serve and unite laity, religious and clergy in community prayer, servant leadership and pastoral action. It is a consultative and visioning body to the pastor and parish. It actively listens, communicates and is sensitive to the needs and concerns of parish members and larger community. It examines and considers all that relates to pastoral work-Word, Worship, Community and Service-and proposes practical ideas to the pastor concerning the on-going life and mission of the parish. Specifically, the Council Formulates and monitors the Strategic Plan and engages in continuous pastoral planning.

  • Establishes the Commissions/Committees (Word, Worship, Community and Service) and works closely with each to accomplish the parish's mission.   

  • Formulates policy after prayerful study and dialogue with the pastor concerning parish pastoral matters.   

  • Embodies those qualities consistent with Servant Leadership.



Ex-Officio members include the pastor, parochial vicar and deacon. Members-at-Large include 12 parishioners, who are selected through a nomination process for two years. Members, who have completed their two years, and at the discretion of the council, may opt to continue for two additional terms or a total of six years. Terms are staggered to insure continuity of work and, depending upon vacancies, the nomination process is conducted every two years.


Msgr. David Tressler, Pastor
Fr. Shawn Simchock, Parochial Vicar
Deacon Gerard Pernot
Katherine Santarpia
Kim McNulty, Chair
Maria Edmunds,  Vice-Chair & Liaison to Community
Charles Blewitt
Gerry Dicton, Liaison to Word
Stephanie Fernandes
Edward Naperski, Co-Liaison to Service
Roseann O'Connor, Secretary
Margarita Rose, Co-Liaison to Service
Mary Stchur
Nicole Stinson
Brian Thomas, Representative to the Finance Council
Joan Turel, Liaison to Worship  


bottom of page